Difference between revisions of "Google Drive/Migrating from Backup and Sync to Drive for Desktop"

From UMIACS
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Line 11: Line 11:
 
*Drive for Desktop will then ask you if you would like to store your photos and videos from your computer on your Google Drive or your Google Photos. NOTE: If you select the Google Photos option, you will need to sign into Google Photos using your $USERNAME@umd.edu Google account to access them. They will not sync into your personal Google account.
 
*Drive for Desktop will then ask you if you would like to store your photos and videos from your computer on your Google Drive or your Google Photos. NOTE: If you select the Google Photos option, you will need to sign into Google Photos using your $USERNAME@umd.edu Google account to access them. They will not sync into your personal Google account.
 
:[[File:Screenshot 2021-10-11 124737.jpg|800px]]
 
:[[File:Screenshot 2021-10-11 124737.jpg|800px]]
 +
*You will then be prompted to remove Backup and Sync from your system, go ahead and select the "OK" option as this software will eventually become depreciated.
 +
:[[File:Screenshot 2021-10-11 124817.jpg|800px]]

Revision as of 17:29, 11 October 2021

In February 2021, Google announced that they’re unifying their 2 existing Drive sync clients—Backup and Sync and Drive File Stream—into a unified sync client called Drive for desktop. The migration process will be a guided flow through the Backup and Sync to help users transition onto Drive for desktop. This documentation explains this guided flow further.

Windows Setup

  • The first step is to select the backup and sync cloud in the lower righthand corner of your desktop. If the icon is not immediately visible, select the up arrow to show more icons.
Screenshot 2021-10-11 124233.jpg
  • Then you must select the "GET STARTED" button
Screenshot 2021-10-11 124302.jpg
  • After that, select the "Sign in" button. This will bring up your associated Google Accounts. Make sure to select the account with $YOURUSERNAME@umd.edu
Screenshot 2021-10-11 124350.jpg
  • After you have signed in, Drive for Desktop will check your folders to make sure all of your files are up to date and ask you to review your settings and inform you of the location of your Google Drive in your local filesystem.
  • Drive for Desktop will then ask you if you would like to store your photos and videos from your computer on your Google Drive or your Google Photos. NOTE: If you select the Google Photos option, you will need to sign into Google Photos using your $USERNAME@umd.edu Google account to access them. They will not sync into your personal Google account.
Screenshot 2021-10-11 124737.jpg
  • You will then be prompted to remove Backup and Sync from your system, go ahead and select the "OK" option as this software will eventually become depreciated.
Screenshot 2021-10-11 124817.jpg